Book Review - Shiver by Allie Reynolds 🥶

Title: Shiver

Author: Allie Reynolds

Publisher: Headline

Release Date: 21st January 2021

Source: NetGalley
They don't know what I did. And I intend to keep it that way.

How far would you go to win? Hyper-competitive people, mind games and a dangerous natural environment combine to make the must-read thriller of the year. Fans of Lucy Foley and Lisa Jewell will be gripped by spectacular debut novel Shiver.

When Milla is invited to a reunion in the French Alps resort that saw the peak of her snowboarding career, she drops everything to go. While she would rather forget the events of that winter, the invitation comes from Curtis, the one person she can't seem to let go.

The five friends haven't seen each other for ten years, since the disappearance of the beautiful and enigmatic Saskia. But when an icebreaker game turns menacing, they realise they don't know who has really gathered them there and how far they will go to find the truth. 

In a deserted lodge high up a mountain, the secrets of the past are about to come to light.
Snow has featured heavily in a lot of my reads of late, I just love a snowy crime setting.  Snow can cover up evidence, block ways of escape and disguise seemingly safe ground.  It also looks pretty.

Shiver takes us to the French Alps.  It begins with a reunion of five friends, actually maybe friends isn’t the right word, frenemies might be better.  Ten years ago they all met up as snowboarding competitors, a sport that is a heck of a lot more competitive than I realised.  Back then there was six of them, one of them disappeared and hasn’t been seen since.

In the present the group of five arrive at a lodge, they find it deserted and after a brief conversation they aren’t actually sure who invited them.  A series of events starting with the taking of their mobiles makes them realise that the lodge isn’t as deserted as it seems, who has brought them to this Alpine lodge and what do they want?

Answers, that’s what.  Ten years ago, one of the group Saskia vanished, she was selfish, driven, beautiful and nobody knows what happened to her, was she lost on the slopes or did someone give her a hand? A lover, a friend, a fellow competitor?  All five remaining members of the group are suspects and they all appear guilty as sin, did one of the murder Saskia?

This is a good book, once again the snowy setting is used to great effect and seems to have been very popular with books released in the last few months.  The back story along with the current story weave nicely together and when the time to reveal Saskia’s fate I was pleasantly surprised.  

If you like your mysteries snowy then you should enjoy this!

Thanks to NetGalley for providing me with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

25 comments

  1. Thanks for the review. New author and book for me.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds like a great mystery! Frenemies + unsolved mystery + isolated lodge + the unexplained = tons of fun to be had lol. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. This has been well-liked, thanks for sharing your thoughts

    ReplyDelete
  4. I do love snowy settings, especially when it comes to mysteries. This sounds so good!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Ooh this sounds really good. Snowy landscapes are always good backgrounds for mysteries/thrillers, like you said. It's beautiful, but menacing, and it can hide so much.

    -Lauren
    www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oe oe oe!!! This sounds sooooo good!! Definitely having a look now. I loved One by One and now I'm trying to figure out if I've read any other books in snow. Murder on the Orient Express, The Snow Child... Mmmm, will think a bit.

    Great review Heather!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I’ve read so many snowy books of late! I started one last night and it’s set in the Arctic, I think I was an intrepid explorer in a past life!

      Delete
  7. You have been reading some great snowy reads! I love a good snowy setting, too. This is another book to add to my TBR list. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Spelling lesson for me. I thought it was spelled shivver. So yes, this sounds like a good book to shiver with!

    ReplyDelete
  9. That creepy snowy isolated cover is exactly the kind that catches my eye!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Interesting! This book is getting some rave reviews, all that "I know what you did last summer" vibe. I'm wary of snowy/ avalanche settings, but seems like a strong entry for Cloak & Dagger!
    ~ Lex (lexlingua.co)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It was a good read and I’ve added it to my Cloak and Dagger list!

      Delete
  11. I really enjoyed this one too. Perfect setting and with that claustrophobic feel that works so well, gradually building to hysteria.
    Lynn :D

    ReplyDelete
  12. I love to watch snowboarding on TV. The snow has been fun in my town as neighbors build detailed snow dinosaurs. I think this novel will be right up my alley.

    ReplyDelete
  13. It looks good, I'm adding it to my list, thanks :)

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking the time to comment, I appreciate it and will make the time to come and visit your blog, maybe not today but soon as I am always behind!

Sorry due to lots of Spam I am moderating all comments - no spammers I don't want to buy whatever it is you are selling!